How to grow Ferocactus glaucescens

Ferocactus glaucescens growing cactus of the genus Ferocactus also known as Glaucous barrel cactus, Ferocactus glaucescens perennial evergreen used as ornamental drought tolerant plant, can grow in desert, mediterranean, subtropics climate and growing in hardiness zone 10-12a.

Stem color green-bluish the shape is round to oval spines cover the angles of the stem.

Ferocactus glaucescens flowers

Flower color can be: yellow, the flower bloom on top of the stem.

Ferocactus glaucescens for sale – Seeds or Plants to Buy

How to grow Ferocactus glaucescens growing and care:

More than -2C, dry soil

What is the best way to start growing?
Plant / Vegetative reproduction

Is it necessary to graft or use vegetative reproduction?

Difficulties or problems when growing:
Doesn’t like too much water

Planting season:
All year

Pests and diseases:
Snails, slugs

Pruning season:
All year

How to prune:

Size of the plant?
20-50cm, 8-20 inches

Growth speed in optimal condition:
Slow growing

Water requirement:
Small amount of water

Light conditions in optimal condition for growing:
Full Sun

Is it possible to grow indoor as houseplant?

Growing is also possible in a planter /flowerpot / containers:

Blooming information

Bloom season:

General information about the flower
Yellow flowers, the flower bloom on top of the stem

Scientific name:

Ferocactus glaucescens

Blooming Seasons

Flower Colors


Ornamental parts

Plant growing speed

Plant life-form

Plant uses

Planting season

Plants sun exposure

Watering plants

Hardiness zone